Posts that contain books by author ‘ Jill Shalvis ’


July 2015 LibraryReads List

1 Comment

Kitchensblog

Kitchens of the Great
Midwest: A Novel

by J. Ryan Stradal

Published:7/28/2015
by Pamela Dorman Books
ISBN: 9780525429142

“This novel is quirky and colorful. The story revolves around chef Eva Thorvald and the people who influence her life and her cooking. With well-drawn characters and mouthwatering descriptions of meals, Kitchens of the Great Midwest will appeal to readers who like vivid storytelling. Foodies will also enjoy this delicious tale.”

                                                                    Anbolyn Potter, Chandler Public Library, Chandler, AZ

CirclingtheSunblog

Circling the Sun: A Novel

by Paula McLain

Published: 7/28/2015 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780345534187

“I couldn’t stop reading this fascinating portrayal of Beryl Markham, a complex and strong-willed woman who fought to make her way in the world on her terms. McLain paints a captivating portrait of Africa in the 1920s and the life of expats making their home there. Highly, highly recommended.”

Halle Eisenman, Beaufort County Library, Hilton Head, SC


KissMeblog

Kiss Me: A Novel

by Susan Mallery

Published: 6/30/2015/2015 by HQN Books
ISBN: 9780373780129

“As always, Ms. Mallery has given us a fantastic read. As soon as I pick up her titles, I can’t put them down until I have finished them. They are feel-good, heartwarming —
I need more synonyms. I love seeing all the previous characters, the friendships and families that have formed since Chasing Perfect came out five years ago. Thanks, Ms. Mallery, for another amazing read.”

Jenelle Klavenga, Marshalltown Public Library, Marshalltown, IA


SecondChanceSummerblog

Second Chance Summer: A Novel

by Jill Shalvis

Published: 6/30/2015 by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781455586738

“I loved this book, a perfect start to the newest series by Jill Shalvis. It contains the same humor, heart and heat that we’ve come to expect from this author. It should be on every romance reader’s summer reading list.”

Carole Tossman, Howard County Library System, Columbia, MD


SpeakinginBonesblog

Speaking in Bones: A Novel

by Kathy Reichs

Published: 7/21/2015 by Bantam
ISBN: 9780345544049

“This book lives up to the expectations we have for Kathy Reichs. A compelling and dangerous mystery, lots of medical details, and good characterization make this a title that will be easy to recommend!”

Leslie Johnson, Jefferson County Public Library, Lakewood, CO


ThoseGirlsblog

Those Girls: A Novel

by Chevy Stevens

Published: 7/7/2015 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250034588

Those Girls follows the lives of the Campbell sisters. After running away from their alcoholic father, they find themselves caught in a worse situation when they are kidnapped. As events spiral out of control, they manage to escape and create new lives. This is a tale that will captivate readers and show just how strong the bond between family members can be.”

Annice Sevett, Willmar Public Library, Willmar, Minnesota


AnotherLifeblog

Maybe in Another Life: A Novel

by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Published: 7/7/2015 by Washington Square Press
ISBN: 9781476776880

“Hannah Martin has just moved back to LA after ending a relationship. Her best friend, Gabby, takes her out to a bar on her first night home. Enter Ethan, the One Who Got Away, and suddenly, Hannah has to decide if she’ll leave with Ethan or Gabby. We follow Hannah after choosing both options, alternating chapters to explore the consequences of each. A must for anyone who loves a hankie with their books!”

                                                                  Tracy Babiasz, Chapel Hill Public Library, Chapel Hill, NC


crookedheartblog

Crooked Heart: A Novel

by Lissa Evans

Published: 7/28/2015 by Harper
ISBN: 9780062364838

Crooked Heart is a rewarding, addictive read. Orphaned ten-year-old bookworm Noel, sent away to rural St. Albans, finds himself under the reluctant guardianship of Vee, aka Mrs. Vera Sledge. Amidst a chaotic background of bombings and uncertain futures, Vee and Noel gradually form a powerful bond. I recommend this darkly humorous, honest, and complex story. It is book club heaven.”

Janet Schneider, Oceanside Library, Oceanside, NY


LoveLiesBeneathblog

Love Lies Beneath: A Novel

by Ellen Hopkins

Published: 7/21/2015 by Atria Books
ISBN: 9781476743653

“An intriguing tale of sex, romance and deception. Tara is a brilliant, sexy forty-something. She’s enjoying being single until Cavin, a handsome doctor, enters her exam room. They have a hot and steamy romance but there is much, much more to this story. Ellen Hopkins commands each word on the page from her prose to verse.”

Laura Hartwig, Meriden Public Library, Meriden, CT


Good&Cheap_PB_RETAIL_COV_MECH_3pp.indd

Good and Cheap: Eat Well on $4/Day

by Leanne Brown

Published: 7/14/2015 by Workman Publishing Company
ISBN: 9780761184997

“Wow! This is a great looking book. Great for beginners with its details about ingredients and kitchen tools. Best of all, each recipe is made from ingredients that most everyone has; there were only two ingredients in the whole book that I don’t own. This book is just what my doctor ordered, literally. I am a basic cook and like simple and tasty. This book is OUTSTANDING!”

Nancy Chalk, Charlton Public Library, Charlton, MA


Download the Color Flyer / Download the B&W Flyer


Authors: , , , , , , , , ,

April 2015 LibraryReads List

2 Comments

AttheWatersEdge-198x300

At the Water’s Edge:
A Novel

by Sara Gruen

Published: 3/31/2015 by Spiegel & Grau
ISBN: 9780385523233

“Set in Loch Ness, right in the middle of WWII, a foolish group of rich Americans arrive in search of the famous monster. Narrator Maddie must make sense of the circumstances that have brought her to this wild locale. Only then can she discover the strength she needs to make her own decisions. Enjoy a delightfully intriguing cast of characters and the engaging style of storytelling that has made Gruen so popular.”

Paulette Brooks, Elm Grove Public Library, Elm Grove, WI

RoyalWe-199x300

The Royal We

by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan

Published: 4/7/2015 by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781455557103

“This delightful spin on the story of Prince William and Kate Middleton is the perfect beachy, weekend read for anyone who loves love stories with a healthy dose of humor. Here, Will and Kate are replaced by Nick and Bex–he’s the heir to the British throne, she’s the American who effortlessly steals his heart. Can they weather many obstacles to find their Happily Ever After? Part fairy tale, part cautionary tale, the novel is pure fun from start to finish.”

Donna Matturri, Pickerington Public Library, Pickerington, OH


DesperateFortune-197x300

A Desperate Fortune

by Susanna Kearsley

Published: 4/7/2015 by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN: 9781492602026

“While transcribing an old manuscript of a young girl’s diary, Sara decodes an account of Jacobite spies. Long before, Mary Dundas gets involved in a mission which makes her confidante to the King of Scotland in exile. And along the way, both women fall for men they know little about. Kearsley is a master at seamlessly blending stories from two time periods. Readers who enjoy a little puzzle solving with their historical fiction will be rewarded.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX


DreamLover-207x300

The Dream Lover: A Novel

by Elizabeth Berg

Published: 4/14/2015 by Random House
ISBN: 9780812993158

“George Sand leaves her estranged husband and children to embark on a life of art in bohemian Paris. A talented writer who finds monetary and critical success, Sand adopts a man’s name, often dresses as a gentleman and smokes cigars. Through her writing, politics, sexual complexities and views on feminism, Sand is always seeking love. This novel has spurred me to learn more about George Sand, a woman truly ahead of her time.”

Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA


StilltheOne-186x300

Still the One

by Jill Shalvis

Published: 4/7/2015 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780425270189

“Oh Jill Shalvis, how I love thee! Although all the books in this Animal Magnetism series have strong heroines, this one is the absolute best. And chemistry–wowza, it’s intense. The novel brings a focus on two important social issues: the lack of funding available for those who need physical therapy, and the fact that service dogs who do not pass their certification should not be thrown away. I fell in love and learned something at the same time. Instant classic.”

Amanda Brown, Roanoke Public Libraries, Roanoke, VA


InsidetheOBriens-196x300

Inside the O’Briens: A Novel

by Lisa Genova

Published: 4/7/2015 by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781476717777

“The O’Briens are an Irish Catholic family living in Boston. Joe, the father, is a cop, and when he is diagnosed with Huntington’s, he must somehow tell his wife and four grown children and learn to live with the disease. I couldn’t put the book down for too long. Genova made me feel as if I was part of the family. I loved the way she developed her characters with style and warmth.”

Valerie Giambona, Secaucus Public Library, Secaucus, NJ


HouseofEchoes-193x300

House of Echoes: A Novel

by Brendan Duffy

Published: 4/14/2015 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780804178112

“Eager to get out of the big city, Ben and Caroline Tierney purchase a large, old house upstate hoping to renovate it into a hotel. However, their house, called The Crofts, has a dark, mysterious past, and terrifying secrets begin to threaten the family. This wonderfully eerie and atmospheric debut novel is a great recommendation for fans of Bohjalian’s The Night Strangers and McMahon’s The Winter People.”

Sara Kennedy, Delaware County District Library, Delaware, OH


PreciousOne-199x300

The Precious One: A Novel

by Marisa de los Santos

Published: 3/24/2015 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780061670893

“Taisy hasn’t seen her father since he dumped her family and started another one 17 years ago. An unexpected invitation to write his biography returns her to her hometown, and gives her a rare chance to knit together a broken web of relationships. Like all de los Santos’ books, The Precious One features smart, funny characters who form an unconventional family. It’s luminous and heartwarming, without an ounce of sap.”

Heather Bistyga, Anderson County Library, Anderson, SC


BoneTree-198x300

The Bone Tree: A Novel

by Greg Iles

Published: 4/21/2015 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062311115

“Based on a real series of unsolved murders from the civil rights era in Louisiana, and the crusading journalist who uncovered the story, Iles’ novel shines a bright light of truth upon one of America’s darkest secrets. Iles’ compelling writing makes this complex tale of good versus evil a must-read for those who love thrillers, and those who want to learn a little bit of American history not normally taught in school.”

Ellen Jennings, Cook Memorial Public Library, Libertyville, IL


WhereTheyFoundHer-198x300

Where They Found Her: A Novel

by Kimberly McCreight

Published: 4/14/2015 by Harper
ISBN: 9780062225467

“Molly Sanderson is covering a feature for the Ridgedale Reader that not only stirs up her recent grief over a stillborn child, but secrets that have been kept hidden for over two decades in this northern New Jersey college town. As the stories of four different women unfold, a new piece of the puzzle is revealed. Chilling and gruesome at times, this is a novel with characters who will stay with the reader long after the final page is turned.”

Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ


Download the Color Flyer / Download the B&W Flyer


Authors: , , , , , , , , , ,

Top