April 2015 LibraryReads List

AttheWatersEdge-198x300

At the Water’s Edge:
A Novel

by Sara Gruen

Published: 3/31/2015 by Spiegel & Grau
ISBN: 9780385523233

“Set in Loch Ness, right in the middle of WWII, a foolish group of rich Americans arrive in search of the famous monster. Narrator Maddie must make sense of the circumstances that have brought her to this wild locale. Only then can she discover the strength she needs to make her own decisions. Enjoy a delightfully intriguing cast of characters and the engaging style of storytelling that has made Gruen so popular.”

Paulette Brooks, Elm Grove Public Library, Elm Grove, WI

RoyalWe-199x300

The Royal We

by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan

Published: 4/7/2015 by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781455557103

“This delightful spin on the story of Prince William and Kate Middleton is the perfect beachy, weekend read for anyone who loves love stories with a healthy dose of humor. Here, Will and Kate are replaced by Nick and Bex–he’s the heir to the British throne, she’s the American who effortlessly steals his heart. Can they weather many obstacles to find their Happily Ever After? Part fairy tale, part cautionary tale, the novel is pure fun from start to finish.”

Donna Matturri, Pickerington Public Library, Pickerington, OH


DesperateFortune-197x300

A Desperate Fortune

by Susanna Kearsley

Published: 4/7/2015 by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN: 9781492602026

“While transcribing an old manuscript of a young girl’s diary, Sara decodes an account of Jacobite spies. Long before, Mary Dundas gets involved in a mission which makes her confidante to the King of Scotland in exile. And along the way, both women fall for men they know little about. Kearsley is a master at seamlessly blending stories from two time periods. Readers who enjoy a little puzzle solving with their historical fiction will be rewarded.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX


DreamLover-207x300

The Dream Lover: A Novel

by Elizabeth Berg

Published: 4/14/2015 by Random House
ISBN: 9780812993158

“George Sand leaves her estranged husband and children to embark on a life of art in bohemian Paris. A talented writer who finds monetary and critical success, Sand adopts a man’s name, often dresses as a gentleman and smokes cigars. Through her writing, politics, sexual complexities and views on feminism, Sand is always seeking love. This novel has spurred me to learn more about George Sand, a woman truly ahead of her time.”

Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA


StilltheOne-186x300

Still the One

by Jill Shalvis

Published: 4/7/2015 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780425270189

“Oh Jill Shalvis, how I love thee! Although all the books in this Animal Magnetism series have strong heroines, this one is the absolute best. And chemistry–wowza, it’s intense. The novel brings a focus on two important social issues: the lack of funding available for those who need physical therapy, and the fact that service dogs who do not pass their certification should not be thrown away. I fell in love and learned something at the same time. Instant classic.”

Amanda Brown, Roanoke Public Libraries, Roanoke, VA


InsidetheOBriens-196x300

Inside the O’Briens: A Novel

by Lisa Genova

Published: 4/7/2015 by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781476717777

“The O’Briens are an Irish Catholic family living in Boston. Joe, the father, is a cop, and when he is diagnosed with Huntington’s, he must somehow tell his wife and four grown children and learn to live with the disease. I couldn’t put the book down for too long. Genova made me feel as if I was part of the family. I loved the way she developed her characters with style and warmth.”

Valerie Giambona, Secaucus Public Library, Secaucus, NJ


HouseofEchoes-193x300

House of Echoes: A Novel

by Brendan Duffy

Published: 4/14/2015 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780804178112

“Eager to get out of the big city, Ben and Caroline Tierney purchase a large, old house upstate hoping to renovate it into a hotel. However, their house, called The Crofts, has a dark, mysterious past, and terrifying secrets begin to threaten the family. This wonderfully eerie and atmospheric debut novel is a great recommendation for fans of Bohjalian’s The Night Strangers and McMahon’s The Winter People.”

Sara Kennedy, Delaware County District Library, Delaware, OH


PreciousOne-199x300

The Precious One: A Novel

by Marisa de los Santos

Published: 3/24/2015 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780061670893

“Taisy hasn’t seen her father since he dumped her family and started another one 17 years ago. An unexpected invitation to write his biography returns her to her hometown, and gives her a rare chance to knit together a broken web of relationships. Like all de los Santos’ books, The Precious One features smart, funny characters who form an unconventional family. It’s luminous and heartwarming, without an ounce of sap.”

Heather Bistyga, Anderson County Library, Anderson, SC


BoneTree-198x300

The Bone Tree: A Novel

by Greg Iles

Published: 4/21/2015 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062311115

“Based on a real series of unsolved murders from the civil rights era in Louisiana, and the crusading journalist who uncovered the story, Iles’ novel shines a bright light of truth upon one of America’s darkest secrets. Iles’ compelling writing makes this complex tale of good versus evil a must-read for those who love thrillers, and those who want to learn a little bit of American history not normally taught in school.”

Ellen Jennings, Cook Memorial Public Library, Libertyville, IL


WhereTheyFoundHer-198x300

Where They Found Her: A Novel

by Kimberly McCreight

Published: 4/14/2015 by Harper
ISBN: 9780062225467

“Molly Sanderson is covering a feature for the Ridgedale Reader that not only stirs up her recent grief over a stillborn child, but secrets that have been kept hidden for over two decades in this northern New Jersey college town. As the stories of four different women unfold, a new piece of the puzzle is revealed. Chilling and gruesome at times, this is a novel with characters who will stay with the reader long after the final page is turned.”

Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ


Download the Color Flyer / Download the B&W Flyer


Authors: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “April 2015 LibraryReads List”

  1. Judy Hudson says:

    So glad to discover this website on publisher’s weekly. I like the fact that it reviews a good range of books.

Leave a Reply


6 + = seven

Top