June 2015 LibraryReads List

800 grapes blog

Eight Hundred Grapes:
A Novel

by Laura Dave

Published: 6/2/2015 by Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781476789255

“Take your time and savor the family dynamics. Enjoy the romantic twists in this tale of a career-minded young woman circling back to her roots at a California winery. The appeal is broader than that of a romance since it delves into the complexities of various relationships — parent to parent, parents and children, even winery and owner. This is an excellent summer read!”

Joan Hipp, Florham Park Public Library, Florham Park, NJ

Truth According blog

The Truth According to Us: A Novel

by Annie Barrows

Published: 6/9/2015 by The Dial Press
ISBN: 9780385342940

“It is 1938 in a rural West Virginia town and a young woman arrives to write the town’s history. Layla doesn’t really know what to expect from the town, and the town doesn’t know what to make of her. This is the heart of the South, the soul of small towns, where everyone looks out for you and knows your history. Sweet story tailor-made for fans of Billie Letts, Fannie Flagg, Pat Conroy and Harper Lee.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX


Book Speculation blog

The Book of Speculation: A Novel

by Erica Swyler

Published: 6/23/2015/2015 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250054807

“A roller coaster of a read! This is the story of a librarian from a splintered family with a tragic past who is gifted a mysterious book that leads him to dive deep into his family’s history, all while his present life seems to be falling to pieces around him. If you loved Morgenstern’s The Night Circus or Kostova’s The Historian, this is a book for you.”

Amanda Monson, Bartow County Library System, Cartersville, GA


Little Paris blog

The Little Paris Bookshop: A Novel

by Nina George

Published: 6/23/2015 by Crown
ISBN: 9780553418774

“Quirky and delightful, Nina George’s book focuses on Jean Perdu, owner of the Literary Apothecary, a floating bookshop. When a new tenant in his apartment building sets in motion events that force Jean to re-evaluate his past, he finds himself floating off down the rivers of France in search of lost love, new love, and friends he didn’t know he needed.”

Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY


Tearling blog

The Invasion of the Tearling: A Novel

by Erika Johansen

Published: 6/9/2015 by Harper
ISBN: 9780062290397

“The Mort are coming! Johansen introduces new characters and enticing bits of history, with the second volume of her intriguing tale of fantasy, mystery and royal politics. Kelsea, the new Tearling Queen, has broken the Red Queen’s treaty and prepares to suffer the consequences as her nation is about to be invaded. Readers will be eager for the final volume in the Tearling saga.”

Lucy Lockley, St. Charles City-County Library, St. Peters, MO


Unlikely Event blog

In the Unlikely Event: A Novel

by Judy Blume

Published: 6/2/2015 by Knopf
ISBN: 9781101875049

“The obvious ‘unlikely events’ of Judy Blume’s latest — the three plane crashes afflicting Elizabeth, NJ in one horrifying winter — set the framework for everyday unlikely events around love, family, friendship, relating all that can go so wrong, and so right, with all three. Readers will enjoy the period detail and relatable characters that feature in this hybrid domestic/disaster tale.”

Becky Bowen, Kenton County Public Library, Independence, KY


Rumor blog

The Rumor: A Novel

by Elin Hilderbrand

Published: 6/16/2015 by Little, Brown and Company
ISBN: 9780316334525

“Elin Hilderbrand has done it again! Grace is married to Fast Eddie, a successful real estate broker on the island. They live with their twin teenage daughters in a beautiful house with three manicured acres overlooking the harbor. Financial troubles, affairs or supposed affairs, teenage angst and shady deals kick the rumor mill on the island in high gear. The Rumor is the ideal beach book for this summer!”

Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT


precipiceblog

The Precipice: A Novel

by Paul Doiron

Published: 6/16/2015 by Minotaur Books
ISBN: 9781250063694

“When two women go missing while hiking a difficult part of the Appalachian Trail, Maine game warden Mike Bowditch helps in trying to determine where the women were last seen. Mike then discovers there is no shortage of people whose behaviors make them suspicious. With a puzzle that keeps the reader guessing, and a main character that you can’t help but empathize with, The Precipice is another home run for Doiron.”

Lora Bruggeman, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL


grandmother blog

My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry: A Novel

by Fredrik Backman

Published: 6/16/2015 by Atria Books
ISBN: 9781501115066

“From the author of one my favorite books of last year, A Man Called Ove, this book packs a similar emotional punch at the end, but has some significant differences. It is told from the point of view of Elsa, a seven-year-old child who loves Harry Potter, fairy tales, and her grandmother. Once I stopped trying to make the story fit my adult view of the world and entered into Elsa’s world, I had a whale of a time.”

Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC


pirate blog

Pirate Hunters: Treasure, Obsession, and the Search for a Legendary Pirate Ship

by Robert Kurson

Published: 6/16/2015 by Random House
ISBN: 9781400063369

“This is the journey of Tracy Bowden, John Chatterton, and John Mattera as they follow a quest to find the sunken pirate ship named the Golden Fleece. I think anyone would be interested in the treasure of a famous buccaneer, Joseph Bannister. Many people, including me, have dreamed of digging up a treasure chest of gold. What could be more fun than traveling along with treasure hunters to find a lost pirate ship?”

Linda Payne, Lake Placid Memorial Library, Lake Placid, FL


Download the Color Flyer / Download the B&W Flyer


Authors: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply


eight − = 0

Top